Internal and external HDDs - 4k

Mark Thomas

Vu+ Newbie
Hi
I'm a newbie so please forgive my naivety.
I recently bought a Vu+ Solo 4K and am still getting to grips with its range of functions. I put in a 2.5 inch 500gb SATA HDD. That seems to work fine for the PVR, but when I leave it overnight the HDD seems to go into limbo and recordings can no longer be seen when I press the PVR button. I can wake it up by going to the Hard Drive menu and doing a file system check, but by the next day its gone back into limbo again (which is a bit annoying when I want to record early morning programs).

Also, I tried connecting both internal HDD and an external 500 Gb external HDD via USB (the external has its own power source and works fine when there is no internal HDD). But when both are connected I can't see the external HDD. Is the Vu+ Solo 4K capable of addressing both internal and external HDDs at the same time?

All best

Mark

AlexWilMac

If I understand correctly, you mean you are able to record after "resuscitating" you HDD but then it goes to sleep, right?
And, during the night, you leave your decoder in stand-by or in deep stand-by? In deep stand-by it cannot record or do anything.
About the double HDD, it is not sufficient just connect something to a box but you have also to MAP it.
And, finally: what image are you using? Or are you using the original VU+ software?

Mark Thomas

Vu+ Newbie
Many thanks for responding.
I'm pretty sure I just leave the decoder in stand-by, but I may be missing something and it is going into deep stand-by - how would I know?