Satellite Finders/Meters suggestion

ruvain

Vu+ Newbie
Hi All

I hope this the forum to place following question.
In the country I live having a primality held satellite dish, is not a most prevalent practice.
Provided this, finding someone capable of setting up a dish is difficult.

For this reason I’d come to the point in which I concern buying a digital satellite meter.
I noticed a brand manufacturing which though I am a newbie , my impression is that their line is
a well reputed brand. To avoid a possible low breaking of this board I will not mention the brand
Unless to is permitted here.

1. First I’d seen in a specific website a division into Aerial Meters as well as “Satellite Meters” categories. Does cereal refers to Terrestrial services?
  2. I found (at least under “Satellite Meters” category), that there are instruments starting at 119 Uk pounds and some reach 300 , 400 pounds. What makes the difference? is there anything apart of LCD screen size or it is a matter of their detection sensitivity bands , frequencies etc’?
  3. Following question number 2, Should that be enough being able to position the 4 LNB’S I have on my
    fixes 120 cm dish just to be on “focus” of the beams of the steatites my dish its capable of “seeing”,
    Or that is not enough?
  4. Where can I find information about what are the differences between different bands “ KU bands”, "C
    Bands” etc’, and how does it infuences on what I can watch?

Thank you very much!

ruvain

Satellite meters can be bought for as little as £7-£10, these are cheap, basic, meters that beep, and have a 0-10 display. You adjust the sensitivity so that the needle points to 5, mid way, without the dish even pointing at a satellite.
You then adjust the dish, or in your case, the LNB, until the meter hits 10, decrease the sensitivity, so that it reads 5, and adjust the Dish, or LNB, until it reaches 10.