Thinking of buying a Solo4K - complete novice to Enigma 2 boxes.

elsmandino

Vu+ Newbie
Hi there,

I have no knowledge of E2 boxes and would be really grateful for some general advice before I buy one.

I am currently running TVHeadend on a headless Linux server, with three PCIe tuners ( a dual DVB-T and a single DVB-S2, connected to a minidish at 28.2e). I view all my recordings via a number or Raspberry Pis on my network, all running Libreelec.

I recently made the decision that I wanted to do the following:

1. Add more tuners as I was often getting clashes with simultaneous recordings and users watching live TV.
2. Go completely with DVB-S2, due its better quality.
3. Add a second motorised dish to see what else was out there.
4. Have a system that was stable and easy enough to use that my wife would be able to just watch TV without my having to intervene all the time.

I spent ages trying to find some way of adding this to my current setup but kept running into different problems - e.g. some devices wouldn't work with USALS, some devices were unstable with Linux etc.

Eventually, someone just asked why I didn't just get an E2 box instead.

From what I have read, it seems the obvious choice - a dedicated and purpose built machine that would just do everything I want above.

I think I have settled on a Solo4K as it seems to offer so much but I have a few questions that I hope you guys might be able to help me with:

1. Generally - what is the experience like, watching TV via one of these devices as opposed to via a Raspberry Pi, linked up to a TV tuner? I think I have only just scratched the surface in terms of what an E2 box can offer - PiP, upscaling etc.

2. Is the Solo4K a good fit for what I am after?

3. I see that the Solo4K uses a 2.5" HDD. Are there any, in particular, that are recommended for use with it? I assume that some are quieter/more reliable/cooler/better for DVR than others.